Regular Bus Routes

Bus Stop Sign

Metro Ride operates 7 regular bus routes in the City of Wausau.  Each runs at 30 minute intervals, which means that the bus will arrive at the same point along the route every 30 minutes.  Passengers can transfer between routes at the Metro Ride Transit Center, located at 555 Jefferson Street in downtown Wausau.  For further information, please refer to our Route Map & Schedules.

Regular Route Bus Stop Locations

Bus stops are genearally located on every other block along each of Metro Ride's regular routes.  To view regular route bus stop locations, please refer the our bus stop map

Express Bus Routes
Express Stop
Metro Ride provides express bus routes during the school year to  alleviate crowding on regular routes. Most of these routes are designed to "express" passengers to their destination by eliminating the need to transfer downtown.  All express routes are open to the general public. For  further information, please refer to our Express Route Guide.
The following Express Routes will be detoured at the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year due to construction on Townline Road: X1 AM, X1 PM, X2, X9

Transferring Between Routes

TransitWhen your trip requires the use of more than one route, you will need to ask the driver for a transfer when you pay your fare.  Free transfers are available on all routes.  A transfer entitles you to transfer to any other route in order to get to your destination.  Passengers can transfer between routes at the Metro Ride Transit Center in downtown Wausau or where two routes intersect.  A transfer must be used no later than one trip after it is issued.  A transfer must be used to continue your trip on a different route.  Transfers cannot be used for a return trip on the route on which the transfer was issued.  A transfer is not a round-trip ticket. 
Area Served:TC Diagram
  • City of Wausau 
Hours of Operation:
  • Monday-Friday - 6:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • Metro Ride does not provide service on Saturday, Sundays or on the following Holidays: New Years Day; Independence Day (July 4); Labor Day; Thanksgiving Day; Christmas Day.
Office Hours:
Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.