Wausau Wisconsin

Fire

June 26, 2017

Do you know when the next disaster will strike?  It is difficult to predict what the disaster will be or where you will be when it happens.  In a major disaster, it might be several days before vital services are restored.  The City of Wausau is exposed to a variety of hazards, both natural and man-made.  Severe storms, power outages, tornado, snow emergencies and fire emergencies are just some of the potential emergencies we may encounter.  Imagine that you have no electricity, gas, water, or telephone service.....Image that all businesses are closed and you are without any kind of emergency services.  What will you do until help arrives?  You are your family need to be prepared ahead of time.

Residents are encouraged to have enough supplies on hand to be self sufficient for 72 hours in the event that emergency services are overwhelmed during a large scale emergency.

Visit the following websites to learn more information on how to prepare for any major emergency or disaster.

Ready Wisconsin - In February 2003, the US Homeland Security Department launched the Ready campaign.  It is a national public service advertising campaign designed to educate and empower Americans to prepare for and respond to emergencies, including natualr and technological disasters and potential terrorist attacks.  The goal of the national campaign is to get the public involved and ultimately to increase the level of basic preparedness across the nation.

American Red Cross - The American Red Cross exists to provide compassionate care to those in need.  Our network of generous donors, volunteers and employees share a mission of preventing and relieving suffering, here at home and around the world, through five key service areas.

Emergency Preparedness and Response - CDC

Homeland Security - Prepare My Family for a Disaster

Emergency Weather Radio Information

Ready.gov (FEMA)

How to create an Emergency Preparedness Plan for your Family: http://beprepared.com/emergency-preparedness-plan-for-your-family

Protecting You and Your Family During A Natural Disaster: http://www.homesecurity.io/natural-disaster-safety-tips

Disaster Preparedness for People with Disabilities: http://www.disastersrus.org/mydisasters/disability/disability.pdf

Emergency Preparedness for Seniors: http://www.redcross.org/prepare/location/home-family/seniors

Severe Thunderstorms: Facts, Safety Tips & Recovery Steps: http://www.homeadvisor.com/r/severe-thunderstorms-guide/

Homeowner's Guide to Lightning Safety: http://www.homecity.com/homeowners-lightning-safety-guide

Tornado Safety Disaster Survival Guide: http://www.disaster-survival-guide.com/natural-disasters/tornado-safety/

Preparing Your Home for a Hurricane: https://www.redfin.com/blog/2015/09/preparing-your-home-for-a-hurricane.html

Safe Travels: Disaster Preparedness on the Road: http://www.getreadyforflu.org/DrivingDisasters.htm

Pet and Animal Emergency Planning: https://www.ready.gov/animals

Storm Shelter Cost and Price Guide: http://www.improvenet.com/r/costs-and-prices/building-a-storm-shelter

Children in Disasters - an information page that has real stories from disasters, tips on caring for children and even games and activities for kids to play (and learn about safety).

Home Hazards - an interactive fact sheet about possible hazards in the home. It's a good way to make sure the home is safe and secure before any emergency happens.

Important Legal Documents for Emergency Preparedness: https://www.justgreatlawyers.com/legal-documents-to-prepare-for-emergency-preparedness