MC 2.60.020 Terms of office: Citizen members of the board of review, the housing authority, the police and fire commission and the Wausau water works commission shall serve five-year terms. Members of all other boards and commissions shall serve three-year terms unless otherwise specified by statute or ordinance. The terms of all members shall begin on May 1 except the terms of library board members which shall begin July 1. No person may be appointed to more than two consecutive regular terms as a member of any city board or commission, unless the reappointment is specifically approved by the common council. (Ord. 61-4999 §1, 1998; Ord. 61-4074 §1(part), 1967; prior code §2.03(2).)

MC 13.04.020 Utility Commission: The utility commission shall consist of five members. The commission shall consist of the mayor, one alderperson elected from the membership of the common council, and three citizens of the city of Wausau. The mayor shall be deemed to be a member of the commission for the term for which he/she is elected, and the mayor shall act as the president and presiding officer. The alderperson shall be elected or re-elected by the common council at the inaugural organizational meeting of the council after its election, which alderperson shall serve a two year term commencing immediately upon election and which aldperson shall be the secretary of the commission. The three citizen members shall be appointment or re-appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the common council and shall serve a five-year term of office which shall begin on the first day of May in the year in which the term commences. Commission vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term of office in accordance with appropriate state statutes and city ordinances, and shall be confirmed by the common council, as necessary.

There shall be regular monthly commission meetings, and special meetings may be held at any time upon the call of the president or upon the request of the majority of the commission. A majority of the commission shall constitute a quorum. The president shall have the authority to sign any contracts authorized by the commission.

Regular Meeting Schedule:  1st Tuesday of every month @ 1:30 pm.   Meetings are only held upon issuance of the official agenda notice.  Please check the calendar to confirm whether the meeting will be held.

Wausau Water Works Commission Members
Representing Name Address Term Phone #
Mayor Robert Mielke (C) 407 Grant St. Term of Office 715-261-6800
Alderperson (Elected) Dawn Herbst 2809 Springdale Ave 2018-2020 715-842-8347
Citizen Member Jim Force (N) 515 Franklin St. 5 Yr Term Ending: 4/30/21 715-845-9571
Citizen Member Joe Gehin (2) 3400 Springdale Ave 5 Yr Term Ending: 4/30/24 715-842-1028
Citizen Member Sam Rebman (2) 1015 Maple St 5 Yr Term Ending: 4/30/20 715-848-5193