Wausau Wisconsin

City Council

November 20, 2017

The City Council adopted the "O" circle design for the 400 block on at vote of 6-5 on October 23, 2001 by Resolution #01-1019, and the block has remained open space for several years since the adoption of said design. This committee was established by resolution 05-0703 on July 12, 2005 to accomplish the following goals.

The PowerPoint presentation on the 400 Block City Square Design Concept given by Becher Hoppe to the Common Council at their April 28, 2009 meeting is available. (Files updated 7/28/2009)


  • Study and make recommendation on previously proposed diagonal parking at block.
  • Study adopted “O” design and determine causes as to why the block has not seen its implementation.
  • Study current uses and determine whether adopted design compliments current or proposed use.
  • Recommend alternative designs if applicable and implementation strategies to accomplish same.
  • Collaborate with community and interested parties or users of the block.
  • Propose various funding methods to accomplish the recommended implementation strategy.
  • Make Recommendations to Council as to the block’s use, design and any changes necessary.


This committee is currently inactive.

Representing Name Address Term Phone #
Chairperson Bill Forrest 1303 Jackson St. 2010-2012  
Alderperson Jonathan Havel 915 McClellan St. 2010-2012 715-848-3241
Com Development Ann Werth 407 Grant St. Term of Office 715-261-6686
Citizen Dr. D. J. Freeman 1925 Townline Rd.   715-842-4553
DT Business Rob Shepherd 3406 Swallow Ln.   715-845-7969
DT Business Jim O'Connell 1324 Prospect Ave.   715-845-8151
DT Business Doug Todd 1911 Lillie St.   715-848-5770
Citizen Keith Draheim 920 W. Campus Dr.   715-675-9699
Citizen Barbara Hunger 2313 Ridge View Dr.   715-848-4113
Citizen Joanne Leonard 923 Maple Hill Rd.   715-675-6234
Citizen Christina Powell-Stengl 422 Ruder St.   715-842-9899
Main Street Wausau Dawn Follendorf 316 Scott St.   715-845-1328
WAE Kari Rasmussen 316 Scott St   715-843-0748


Non-voting Advisory Members
Representing Name Address Term Phone #
Parks Director Bill Duncanson 212 River Dr. Term of Office 715-261-1554
Finance Director Maryanne Groat 407 Grant St. Term of Office 715-261-6640
Police Chief Jeff Hardel 515 Grand Ave. Term of Office 715-261-7802